On January 29, 2017, at Mayman Hall of the Colburn School of Music, the Chapter presented the premier concert of the winners of our 2016 composition competition (made possible by a grant from the [national] American Harp Society).  The winning composers were (1st place) James Worlton, (2nd place) Cindy Horstman and (3rd place) Philip Lauto. The required instrumentation for the competition was pedal harp and flute, and the theme was Water.  Los Angeles harpists Allison Allport and Linda-Rose Hembreiker performed two of the winning compositions, and the third was performed by its composer, Cindy Horstman, who flew in from Texas for the occasion. In addition, we were treated to a bonus performance (not competition-related) of a flute and harp piece by Brad Hufft, performed by Ellie Choate. The featured flutists were Stephanie Getz, Mark Hollingsworth, and Teresa Beaman.

170129 Stephanie Linda Rose. 

Above: Stephanie Getz and Linda-Rose Hembreiker perform DILUTE LIGHT by James Worlton. 

170129 Mark Cindy

Above: Mark Hollingsworth and Cindy Horstman acknowledge the applause after their performance of Ms. Horstman's LIFE AQUATIC. 

170129 Stephanie Allison

Above: Stephanie Getz and Allison Allport perform Philip Lauto's AVOCATION OF WATER. 

170129 Teresa Ellie

Above: Teresa Beaman and Ellie Choate perform Brad Hufft's SONGS FOR THE DEPARTED. 


Above: performers and composers: L to R, Ellie Choate, Linda-Rose Hembreiker, Allison Allport, Mark Hollingsworth, Cindy Horstman, James Worlton, Brad Hufft, Stephanie Getz, Teresa Beaman. (Not pictured: Philip Lauto.) 

See also: review of 2014 Composition Competition and concert. 


Upcoming Events

Sat Jun 08 @ 1:00PM -
Student Recital 2024

Joining or Renewing?

No need to log in!

Join/Renew here

Member Login - Not needed to renew!


Events Archive

Would you like to make a contribution to the
general operating expenses of the chapter?